Returning to the Stage: Arizona Musicfest brings the likes of Kenny G and Sergio Mendes to town

By Christina Fuoco-Karasinski

Arizona Musicfest unveiled its starry lineup of exceptional artists to celebrate the return of live indoor concerts in North Scottsdale.

Following the challenges and disappointments of last season, Musicfest has regrouped and renewed its commitment to bringing the joy of music.

In its largest season, Musicfest will produce 30 concerts between November and April.

“As our community emerges from the difficulties of the last year, we are honored to engage and entertain audiences with exceptional performances that will uplift and reunite friends, neighbors and artists around our shared love of music,” says Allan Naplan, Arizona Musicfest’s executive and producing director.

Featured artists include Paul Anka, Bernadette Peters, Kenny G, LeAnn Rimes, Sergio Mendes, Sarah Chang and Emanuel Ax, as well as Pink Martini, Broadway’s John Lloyd Young and the Texas Tenors. The season also features the Festival Orchestra, comprised of musicians from some of the nation’s finest orchestras.

For tickets, call 480-422-8449 or visit azmusicfest.org.

 

November

ABBA The Concert (tribute act)

7:30 p.m. Monday, November 1

Highlands Church, 9050 E. Pinnacle Peak Road, Scottsdale

Tickets are $49 to $111

LeAnn Rimes

7:30 p.m. Saturday, November 13

Highlands Church

Tickets are $49 to $84

Bria Skonberg

7:30 p.m. Monday, November 15

Gathering Place, La Casa de Cristo Church, 6300 E. Bell Road, Scottsdale

Tickets are $39 and $59

Ray on My Mind

7:30 p.m. Friday, November 19

Highlands Church

Tickets are $35 to $72

Young Musicians
Fall Concert

2 p.m. Sunday, November 21

Musical Instrument Museum
4725 E. Mayo Boulevard, Phoenix

Tickets are $20

December

The Christmas Serenad3

7:30 p.m. Friday, December 3

Highlands Church

Tickets are $49 to $84

A Brassy Christmas with the Rodney Marsalis Philadelphia Big Brass

7:30 p.m. Friday, December 10

Gathering Place, La Casa de Cristo Church

Tickets are $29 to $66

January

Chris Mann Celebrates
the Tony Bennett Songbook

7:30 p.m. Friday, January 7

Highlands Church

Tickets are $49 to $84

John Lloyd Young: Broadway’s Jersey Boy

7:30 p.m. Monday, January 10

Highlands Church

Tickets are $49 to $84

Bernadette Peters

7:30 p.m. Friday, January 28

Highland Church

Tickets are $49 to $111

Sergio Mendes

7:30 p.m. Monday, January 31

Highlands Church

Tickets are $49 to $84

February

Steve Tyrell

7:30 p.m. Friday, February 4

Highlands Church

Tickets are $49 to $84

“A Star is Born”: The Concert

7:30 p.m. Monday, February 7

Highlands Church

Tickets are $35 to $72

Music City Hit-Makers

7:30 p.m. Monday, February 14

Highlands Church

Tickets are $35 to $72

Kenny G

7:30 p.m. Saturday, February 19

Highlands Church

Tickets are $49 to $102

Festival Sinfonia

2 p.m. Sunday, February 20

Pinnacle Presbyterian Church,
25150 N. Pima Road, Scottsdale

Tickets are $55 and $81

Sarah Chang and the Festival Orchestra

7:30 p.m. Tuesday, February 22

La Casa de Cristo Church, 6300 E. Bell Road, Scottsdale

Tickets are $25 to $94

Inon Barnatan and the Festival Orchestra

7:30 p.m. Thursday, February 24

La Casa de Christo Church

Tickets are $25 to $89

Festival Orchestra Pops: A Salute to Arizona and the Wild West

7:30 p.m. Friday, February 25

La Casa de Cristo Church

Tickets are $25 to $89

Beethoven’s 9th — Ode to Joy!

2 p.m. Sunday, February 27

La Casa de Cristo Church

Tickets are $25 to $94

March

Callaway Sisters in “Sibling Revelry”

7:30 p.m. Monday, March 7

Highlands Church

Tickets are $35 to $72

Paul Anka: Anka Sings Sinatra

7:30 p.m. Monday, March 14

Highlands Church

Tickets are $49 to $111

Pink Martini with China Forbes

7:30 p.m. Tuesday, March 22

La Casa de Cristo Church

Tickets are $41 to $102

Neil Berg’s 50 Years of Rock ’n’ Roll: Part 2

7:30 p.m. Monday, March 28

Highlands Church

Tickets are $39 to $76

April

The Texas Tenors

7:30 p.m. Friday, April 1

Highlands Church

Tickets are $49 to $84

The McCartney Years

7:30 p.m. Monday, April 4

Highlands Church

Tickets are $35 to $72

Emanuel Ax

7:30 p.m. Thursday, April 21

La Casa de Cristo Church

Tickets are $41 to $102

The Official Blues Brothers Revue

7:30 p.m. Friday, April 29

Highlands Church

Tickets are $35 to $72

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

© 2018 North Valley Magazine

Scroll to top